Beethoven’s Symphony No. 1 [postponed]
Edmonton Symphony Orchestra

Beethoven’s Symphony No. 1 [postponed]

Jan 19 - 23, 2021 Postponed

Postponed: ESO performs Beethoven's Symphony No. 1 at the Winspear Centre
January 11, 2021 • 11:00 AM MST

Thank you for having responded so positively to the reimagined Edmonton Symphony Orchestra concerts so far. Our upcoming program, Beethoven's Symphony No. 1, is postponed. Patrons with tickets will be the first to know when the new dates are announced.

For your tickets to Beethoven's Symphony No. 1, you have several options.

If you reserved tickets using your ESO Membership, your tickets will be returned to your Membership and you can use them for any ESO concert through June 2021. We have lots more in store.

If you are not a Member and have purchased tickets to Beethoven's Symphony No. 1, you can choose to keep your funds on account or donate your tickets back to the ESO for which we would be most grateful. Or, if you prefer, you can request a refund. Please log in to your account on our website and indicate what you would like to do. If we do not hear from you, we will keep your funds on account for future use. If you have any questions, please contact the Box Office:

Log in to your account

Please note that we currently have a very limited amount of Box Office staff members, so our response time is slower than normal. We thank you in advance for your patience and we will do our best to get in touch with you as quickly as possible.

These one-hour concerts will not have an intermission and physical distancing will be in effect. There will be a limited amount of tickets and our first concert program sold out – book quickly!

Click a button below to open

Edmonton Symphony Orchestra

Conducted by Alexander Prior:
Beethoven - Symphony No. 1

Led by Concertmaster Robert Uchida:
Edvard Grieg - Holberg Suite
Vivian Fung - “Pizzicato”

Program subject to change.

Vivian Fung “Pizzicato”

Edvard Grieg - Holberg Suite, Op. 40:

  1. Preludio (Allegro vivace)
  2. Sarabande (Andante)
  3. Gavotta (Allegretto)
  4. Aria (Andante religioso)
  5. Rigaudon (Allegro con brio)

Ludwig van Beethoven - Symphony No. 1:

  1. Adagio molto – Allegro con brio
  2. Andante cantabile con moto
  3. Menuetto. Allegro molto e vivace – Trio – Menuetto
  4. Finale. Adagio – Allegro molto e vivace

Program Notes by Musicologist D.T. Baker will be available closer to performance dates.