University of Alberta Department of Music presents


Friday, April 1 7:30 PM

Tzigane, passionate fireworks for violin and orchestra by Maurice Ravel, features Ehren Moser, the winner of the University of Alberta Concerto Competition and a veritable virtuoso in the making. Dvorák's Serenade op. 44 leads its audience from darkness to light, on a journey peppered with beauty and profundity, joy and celebration. As a finale, the University of Alberta Augustana Choir, Concert Choir and Madrigal Singers perform in collaboration with the University Symphony Orchestra in a performance of Michael Haydn’s Requiem in C minor. First performed 250 years ago, Michael Haydn's Requiem served as both inspiration, and arguably, the model for Mozart’s later Requiem in D minor. The younger brother of Joseph Haydn, Michael was based in Salzburg and held great influence on the music of the period. Combined choirs join with orchestra and vocal soloists in a special and grand return to the stage.

Featured Musicians:
Madrigal Singers
Conducted by Dr. Timothy Shantz
University Symphony Orchestra
Conducted by Petar Dundjerski
and Winner of the University of Alberta Concerto Competition Ehren Moser


Price Group Ticket Price
Adults $25.00
Seniors $20.00
Students $12.00

Prices listed do not include service charges ($3).

31 - Admission Policy - Div Well Style

Winspear Admission policy

Admission to the facility and the event of this ticket is subject to compliance with the facility protocols in effect on the date of entry to the event. Failure of any ticketholder to comply with laws or facility protocols may result in refusal of admission or expulsion.

Click here for more information on our enhanced safety protocols.

40 - Land Acknowledgement - Winspear only

Land Acknowledgement

The Winspear Centre would like to acknowledge that we are on Treaty 6 Territory, a traditional meeting ground, gathering place, and traveling route for many Indigenous Peoples. We honour and recognize the rich artistic, cultural, and musical traditions of the Cree, Nakota Sioux, Metis, Dene, Saulteaux, and the many more Indigenous communities that call this land we share, home.