Cello Suite No. 1 in G Major
ESO Virtual Stage - Video Release

Cello Suite No. 1 in G Major

Johann Sebastian Bach
Available April 23, 2021 10:00 AM MT

Our second release this month is Bach’s Cello Suite No. 1 in G Major, performed by Ethan Filner, ESO Assistant Principal Viola. Bach’s Cello Suites are widely known and loved as a staple in classical music repertoire. But did you know that they only gained far-reaching popularity long after Bach’s death? In 1889, 166 years after Bach composed them, 13-year-old cello prodigy Pablo Casals discovered the Suites in a second-hand store. He went on to record them, which contributed to their lasting popularity.

Watch Video
Must be logged into Winspear Centre account with ESO Virtual Stage subscription.

Part of the ESO Virtual Stage subscription

This exciting digital subscription featuring new, exclusive virtual content from the Edmonton Symphony Orchestra. Watch the ESO perform from the comfort of your own home at any time – with ESO Virtual Stage, you have the freedom to watch your ESO whenever you want.

Learn More Purchase Now

More Information

Click a button below to open/close


Johann Sebastian Bach
Cello Suite No. 1 in G Major, BWV 1007
(18 minutes)

ESO Musicians

Ethan Filner
ESO Assistant Principal Viola

Program Notes PDF

Program notes © 2021 by D.T. Baker.