Brahms: String Sextet No. 2
ESO Virtual Stage - Video Release

Brahms: String Sextet No. 2

Available May 21, 2021 10:00 AM MT

Our second release this month is another tribute to composer Johannes Brahms to celebrate his birth month. Brahms: String Sextet No. 2 consists of four movements performed by pairs of violins, violas, and cellos.

This rich work contains a personal message from Brahms to his unrequited love, and showcases an intense emotional range. “To outline (the sextet) is comparatively simple,” writes Jan Sawfford in his biography of Brahms. “The expressive implications are not.” Led by Concertmaster Robert Uchida, ESO musicians Ewald Cheung (Violin I), Keith Hamm (Principal Viola), Ethan Filner (Assistant Principal Viola), Rafael Hoekman (Principal Cello), and Meran Currie-Roberts (Cello), come together on the Winspear stage for a full, lush performance.

Watch Video
Must be logged into Winspear Centre account with ESO Virtual Stage subscription.

Part of the ESO Virtual Stage subscription

This exciting digital subscription featuring new, exclusive virtual content from the Edmonton Symphony Orchestra. Watch the ESO perform from the comfort of your own home at any time – with ESO Virtual Stage, you have the freedom to watch your ESO whenever you want.

Learn More Purchase Now

More Information

Click a button below to open/close


Johannes Brahms
String Sextet No. 2 in G Major, Op.36
(38 minutes)

Allegro non troppo
Scherzo: Allegro non troppo – Presto giocoso
Poco allegro


Robert Uchida (ESO Concertmaster)
Violin I

Ewald Cheung (ESO Violin I)
Violin II

Keith Hamm (ESO Principal Viola)
Viola I

Ethan Filner (ESO Assistant Principal Viola)
Viola II

Rafael Hoekman (ESO Principal Cello)
Cello I

Meran Currie-Roberts (ESO Cello)
Cello II

Program Notes PDF

Program notes © 2021 by D.T. Baker.