Portraits of Home
Live At The Winspear

Portraits of Home

Presented by Echo Chamber, Choreography by Alysa Pires and William Yong
Saturday, April 8, 2023 8:00 PM
"There is a new and powerful musical voice on Toronto’s polymath artistic landscape... Toronto’s hottest chamber performance series going these days."
– Stephen Bonfield, Ludwig Van Toronto

Portraits of Home, a combination of dance and string chamber music, is a special project curated by Echo Chamber. It is intended to illuminate the inseparable relationship between music and the land on which it was conceived. The musical centrepieces for this project are two works by Yellowknife composer Carmen Braden: The Raven Conspiracy and I Can Finally Feel the Sun. The latter will feature the work of Yellowknife choreographer Tomiko Robson. Other music on the program includes Benjamin Britten’s first string quartet, Blueprint by Caroline Shaw, and The Lark Ascending by Ralph Vaughan Williams, with choreography by acclaimed dance makers Alysa Pires and William Yong. The featured performers are the Rosebud String Quartet (Aaron Schwebel and Sheila Jaffe, violins; Keith Hamm, viola; and Leana Rutt, cello) and dancers Hannah Shikatani, Robert Stephen, and Christian Lavigne.

Program to include:

Braden; 'I Can Finally Feel the Sun’
Tomiko Robson, choreography
Robert Stephen, Hannah Shikatani, Christian Lavigne, dance
Sheila Jaffe, solo violin

Vaughan Williams; ‘Lark Ascending’
William Yong, choreography
Robert Stephen, Hannah Shikatani, Christian Lavigne, dance
Aaron Schwebel, solo violin
Rosebud String Quartet

Braden; ’The Raven Conspiracy’
i. Sticks and Bones
ii. Waltz of Wing and Claw
iii. Something Shiny
Alysa Pires, choreography
Robert Stephen, Hannah Shikatani, Christian Lavigne, dance
Rosebud String Quartet

- Intermission -

Shaw; ‘Blueprint’
Alysa Pires, choreography
Robert Stephen, dance
Rosebud String Quartet

Britten; String Quartet no. 1 in D major, opus 25
i. Andante sostenuto- Allegro vivo
ii. Allegro con slancio
iii. Andante calmo
iv. Molto Vivace
Alysa Pires, choreography
Robert Stephen, Hannah Shikatani, Christian Lavigne, dance
Rosebud String Quartet

Program subject to change.

Digital Program


The Rosebud String Quartet
Aaron Schwebel, Violin
Sheila Jaffe, Violin
Keith Hamm, Viola
Leana Rutt, Cello

Robert Stephen, Dancer
Hannah Shikatani, Dancer
Christian Lavigne, Dancer


Seating Section Ticket Price
General Admission - Stage $50
General Admission - Choir Loft $45

Prices listed do not include service charges.

31 - Admission Policy - Div Well Style

Winspear Admission policy

Admission to the facility and the event of this ticket is subject to compliance with the facility protocols in effect on the date of entry to the event. Failure of any ticketholder to comply with laws or facility protocols may result in refusal of admission or expulsion.

Click here for more information on our enhanced safety protocols.

39 - Land Acknowledgement

Land Acknowledgement

The Winspear Centre and Edmonton Symphony Orchestra would like to acknowledge that we are on Treaty 6 Territory, a traditional meeting ground, gathering place, and traveling route for many Indigenous Peoples. We honour and recognize the rich artistic, cultural, and musical traditions of the Cree, Nakota Sioux, Metis, Dene, Saulteaux, and the many more Indigenous communities that call this land we share, home.