Thelma Johannes O'Neill Memorial Concert
Edmonton Youth Orchestra Present

Thelma Johannes O'Neill Memorial Concert

Conducted by Michael Massey
Sunday, March 3 2:00 PM

Featuring winners of the 42nd annual Northern Alberta Concerto Competition (Strings).

The Edmonton Youth Orchestra Association, founded in 1952, supports the nationally renowned Edmonton Senior Orchestra and the Edmonton Intermediate Orchestra. It is widely regarded as one of the finest youth orchestra programs in Canada annually providing ~150 young musicians from Edmonton and Northern Alberta, the opportunity to develop their orchestral skills, to increase their knowledge and appreciation of music, and to enrich the cultural life of the community through concerts and benefit performances. Edmonton Youth Orchestra members are all motivated students who share a love of music.

Program to include:

Intermediate Orchestra
Elgar Excerpts from Sea Pictures
Elgar  Excerpts from Wands of Youth, Suites 1 & 2
Elgar Cello Concerto in E minor, Op. 85
  1. Adagio, Moderato
  2. Lento, Allegro molto

Senior Orchestra
DebussyLa Mer
Tchaikovsky Violin Concerto in D major, Op. 35

Program subject to change.


Michael Massey, Music Director and Conductor
Rianna Burgess, Conducting Intern
Lesley Dolman, Mezzo-soprano
Anthony Yue, Cello
Jessica Zhuang, Violin


Price Level Seating Area Ticket Price
General Admission - Adult Main, Dress Circle & Upper Circle $20.00
General Admission - Student / Senior Main, Dress Circle & Upper Circle $15.00

Tickets available at Edmonton Arts Council Shop & Services (formerly TIX on the Square) 780-420-1757 / or at the door.

Children under 3 will be admitted free of charge Viewing Room. They will not be admitted into the main chamber. Adults and children 3 and older will need the usual concert ticket in the viewing room.

39 - Land Acknowledgement

Land Acknowledgement

The Winspear Centre and Edmonton Symphony Orchestra would like to acknowledge that we are on Treaty 6 Territory, a traditional meeting ground, gathering place, and traveling route for many Indigenous Peoples. We honour and recognize the rich artistic, cultural, and musical traditions of the Cree, Nakota Sioux, Metis, Dene, Saulteaux, and the many more Indigenous communities that call this land we share, home.